Archive for December 1, 2010

You Might not Know Sam Smith Yet – Another ACS Workshopper

I have the pleasure of knowing Sam Smith for some years now and he is a smart one for sure. The Angel Capital Summit is lucky to have another great professional teaching a workshop and the nice thing about Sam is that he is a professor. You know, a real one that is currently teaching at the University of Denver, University College. Sam has also taught a CU, St. Bonaventure University, and a couple others.

You can learn more about Sam and Black Dog Strategic at http://blackdogstrategic.wordpress.com. I am happy to have Sam on board after an opportunity popped up for him to be involved in this year’s ACS. I made a list of some important things to keep in mind about Sam and why you should listen to him…

  • If you are reading this you must listen to me at least a little and I listen to Sam
  • Sam and I have proven to make good things happen when working together
  • Again, if you read what I write, you will certainly enjoy Sam’s writing… he is actually a professional writer

Here is a snippet of the workshop Sam is putting on and with any luck, I won’t be in a slot again both Chris Roberts and Sam. I am already missing Chris’s workshop and I had my Bluetooth all set up for the show.

A STRATEGIC Approach to Building a Winning Marketing Operation

 The array of marketing, research, promotion and communication technologies, programs and practices has exploded in recent years, as has our understanding of how audiences and markets can be evaluated and segmented. It’s always good to know as much as possible about those you’re attempting to reach, but not every business out there is fully equipped to understand or manage the complexity of the process, especially when each new day finds somebody else hyping the latest and greatest marketing fad.

Entrepreneurs who need clear answers and solutions can easily get lost in the noise, losing focus, wasting time and squandering precious resources on techniques that aren’t suited to their specific challenges.

 A successful entrepreneur’s marketing operation begins by strategically aligning with your business model. What do you need to know about the market? Who do you need to reach? What does your resource budget look like, short term and long term? At what stage of development is your business? How long do you have to get the enterprise profitable? What’s your exit strategy? What core competencies exist in your organization and does it make sense to in-house or outsource?

These are just a few of the questions that a strategic marketing program needs to address, and failure to do so can undercut your success in a number of significant ways.

 This workshop will walk you through the foundational process of tailoring a marketing program that serves your specific requirements.

Upstream/research functions to strategic development to downstream/promotional strategies and tactics – you’ll come away with a clearer idea of how to turn your vision into a reality in the marketplace.

You can learn more about Sam and Black Dog Strategic at http://blackdogstrategic.wordpress.com.

The ACS Workshop Schedule is HERE and Sam will be in one of the empty slots. Updates Coming Soon

December 1, 2010 at 9:28 pm 1 comment

Thank you Sony – The Changing of the Pancake (twitter works)

 

Sony has done what they needed to turn the sad pancake happy

The Result… 

Sony is sending a box and I am giving them back the old computer. Sony will then send me a new computer that is the updated model of my current unit. This is all I wanted and unfortunately it was an uphill battle, however, the battle is obviously worth it since I will be made whole as a result of the effort.

Thank you for the response and the final decision once I started dealing with the right people. Also, thank you to those that read my rants, supported the cause, and respect the customer service process.

December 1, 2010 at 9:08 pm Leave a comment

The Big Event is Upon Us – Parking Lot Chat

I was checking my email in the parking lot and received a message from Kevin Johansen, who if you don’t know, he is the founder of the Angel Capital Summit and CEO of the Business Catapult. This guy has kept me busy and in exchange I have learned a lot, educated some, and have a huge opportunity to network, gain exposure and become a better entrepreneur.

I just got my ticket and it is an honor to have it and I am excited. I am teaching a workshop on finding your target audience and there are many others with expertise in various arenas. I would have to try really hard not to learn something with a group like this years’ 2010 Chairs, Coaches, Instructors, Executive Committee Members, and of course the Entrepreneur, Investors, and Advisors.

It would be great if you attended as well, if you have the time. I have discount for you, a website to register, and the promise of a great event. I even have Dr. Slammy Smith involved since his recent opportunity came up.

The code…

 ACSPART-4973 This code will cut the $119 (pretty inexpensive already) price to $99 

The workshops…

We have great workshops that span a number of subjects. I highly recommend the Database Marketing one that I am teaching and it is a good time so you can attend plenty of others too. I just looked at the schedule and it seems the latest is that I am at the same time as Chris Roberts. He puts on a good show; I have seen him in action.

Check out the schedule by clicking the picture below…

I hope to See You There!

December 1, 2010 at 12:08 am Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other subscribers
Bookmark and Share
December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Database Marketing Articles

jwconsulting

  • 7,877 hits