Archive for December 14, 2010

Of Course Jon Has Something to Say – Support the Important Things!

I have found out a lot about Social Media and have drawn a few conclusions based on tactics and results. In my previous blog I wrote about how twitter is a great customer service tool and I now for the next test. This is one of those tests that even a tiny response is successful because it mean that there is support.

This morning I went about my normal routine of starting the computer, checking email, signing on to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and so on just to see the landscape for the day. Jim Burnett, a former co-worker and hopefully once again at some point had a posting that struck a nerve…

I remember sitting in my house that day and seeing this on the news. Denver is a small place and run into people everywhere but don’t always realize that it also means being connected to others that are connected to misfortune. Today I am trying to see how many people read my blog, not for my benefit, for that of this cause.

This is worth 3 minutes of your time…

Watch the video below and see what Ellen and John-Michael Keyes have created and see how you feel about the initiative. I have kids and everyone knows some, or a teachers, custodian, administrator, or anyone else associated with the school system. Safety is the first thing we need and much like what I carp about in data.. consistency is key. If everyone knows what to do then there is a better chance for a good outcome.

Find our more here

December 14, 2010 at 6:24 pm Leave a comment

Of Course Jon Has Something to Say – Twitter’s Purpose (to me)

Twitter is this and that and can make the world change and blah blah blah. Well I did not know too much about Twitter a few months ago and now I think I found the best use. As a core member of the team that put on another successful Angel Capital Summit, I learned a lot about Twitter due to the amount of use by team members. Those of you that know Linda Hughes know that she is a Twithlete. Linda can get the word out, over, in, and around anything you need. I don’t have a huge following and that is partly user error. I was given the opportunity to learn more and I stopped being a good student as I became busier with other aspects of my role.

FYI, I love this movie and the guy dancing around in the background in a bunch of scenes reminds me of Mr. Paul… my high school accounting teacher.  

Collaboration again…

I retweeted a number of different tweets from people like @iempoweru, @intlentreprenr @LynnKoves @blkdogstategic and many others. There are a lot of people with a lot to say and that leave everyone reading and writing and so on… The point is that Twitter is another means to an end for communicating and should in no way replace anything. It is actually a nice enhancement, sort of like a turbo. Punch it if you need to and a well build machine can produce a nice spike in traffic. So that’s me on Twitter marketing.

The point… Sometime it takes me so long

Twitter is an amazing customer service tool, both on the consumer and industry side. My issues with Sony gave me a great case study on Twitter and the new consumer power. I did not sit down and accept the rules put into place by the manufacturer since they are not fair to the consumer. I do not want to go into the details and you can feel free to read all about it in earlier posts. The reason for the blog is the great response and resolution that occurred once the right people had their feathers ruffled. I owe this to Twitter because once I diplomatically tweeted about my disappointment, @SonyListens responded. When they over promised, which probably would not have been a problem if I was not already ticked off with the handling of the situation, it might have been different. They do not like bad press and Twitter is apparently press these days.

There you go…

Twitter is part of the new press, Have good customer service because people will talk and as they say… The lunatics are taking over the asylum. The press is no longer the press and even the so-called legitimate news channels and programs include some sort of Twitter segment. Jimmy Fallon does a good one and CNN does an interesting job of telling people what the tweeters at home are saying… PRESS.

December 14, 2010 at 4:39 am 2 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other subscribers
Bookmark and Share
December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Database Marketing Articles

jwconsulting

  • 7,877 hits